Knit One, Plead Two

Monday, March 03, 2008

Ooops, I went a leetle bit crazy at Knit Happens

So, Knit Happens, in Alexandria, VA was having a HUGE! HUGE! sale. I went a little bit crazy. $150 dollars later, I had four bags of yarn. (I think I saved something like $500 or more...insane.) A lot of cotton, some soy, I also tried some animal fibers to see if my allergies will let me knit with them or not. I have grand plans, people. Grand! Then today I bought some Debbie Bliss Cathay from elann.com. I do not have a problem. I also do not have enough storage for all this yarn. The Knit Happens batch is strewn on my bed, as I left the next day for my folks.

I'm making progress on the baby knitting. I brought three projects home with me. One baby cardi (Daisy, finished the body up yesterday, started the sleeves today) and two projects I have yet to cast on for. In hindsight, it's probably a little silly to bring this much knitting with me, but I like having a plethora of options.

Most exciting thing about my vacation so far was seeing Ruth Bader Ginsberg at National Airport. It was all I could do not to squee, run up to her and be all 'you go girl!' like an idiot law student. I figured the Federal Marshall, or whoever the big serious looking guy following her would probably tackle me or something like that. Plus, dude, decorum around the Justices. I also thought it was amusing that I recognized her pretty quickly, but on my last trip to Florida had to ask ask someone who the hell the tall guy in first class was. It was Shaquille O'Neil, and everyone else was walking through high-fiving him and taking his picutre. I wonder if anyone has ever high-fived or fist-bumped RBG.

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

It really has been forever since I posted...

Yikes. Totally missed that semester. Let me sum up. Loved the summer job, still working there part time. I have my own apartment, yay! happy dance! (happy NEKKID dance if I want! hah!) Law school is okay, but I'm over it. Better than first year, that's for sure. Dated someone for a little while, didn't work out (oh no, so sad, too bad, whatever). Realized I think I may actually be ready for dating. Tried eharmony. Maybe not.

Thanks to a combo of more free time (thanks second year of law school), my own place (no need to share my couch), cold weather, and an addiction to ravelry, I've been knitting some more.

Right now it's baby stuff--many many babies out there. Luckily there are a lot of cute baby things to knit. I just need to banish startitis and actually finish some things.

Saturday, May 12, 2007

One year down, two to go.

Finals are over, have been since last Thursday. Went to visit the folks a few days later, and heading back to DC to start my fancy new jobby job on Monday. I've never had an office job before, well, save for the part-time receptionist gig that I had for one semester in college. Which really, well, doesn't count. I'm a little nervous, since I'm not sure what to expect. I've had a week of downtime which has been nice, but I'm getting bored. I'm a little worried I'm going to burn out, since I'm not taking much of a break. But that's all part of being a grown-up, no?

I at least have the wardrobe now. Or I think I do. And an outfit for an upcoming wedding reception in Dallas. That should be a blast. One of my closest friends in Dallas got married a few months ago and now is having a reception. Looking forward to seeing her as well as a few other friends that I've missed since I've moved away. But it will be a little weird going back to the Big D.

Home has been good, for the most part, but as usual, I can only handle about three days before I start to go insane. In keeping with my new grown-up role, I actually paid for dinner out with my family last night. I think it confused my father slightly, and really it was more of a hollow gesture than anything else, since 1) mommy has been buying me a lot of clothes this week, 2) they pay for my ticket here, and 3) they added on to the check for the ticket. But hey, it felt good.

My next big thing is to find an apartment. One of my very very own. Yay.

Thursday, April 12, 2007

Time for the quarterly post

Instead of studying or sleeping, I'm watching CSI:Miami. Now, CSI Las Vegas has grown on me, but Miami still annoys me for some reason. I blame David Caruso and his red hair. He's a little too smug for my tastes. And the science at the speed of light!

Did my taxes. Yay...I'm not going to get too excited until it actually gets processed. I did it online for the first time, and I'm not sure I trust this new fangled interwebs thing.

Three more days of school--exams start week after next, and I haven't been outlining at all. Wedding this weekend. My high school prom date of all people (totally platonic, we didn't even make it to prom, since combined we had the sense of direction of a gnat.) It should be fun, several friends from high school will be in town, and it's not that far away.

Direct flights between Reagan and Dallas are crazy expensive -- yet another wedding over Memorial Day weekend. Looking forward to that, the bride is one of my closest friends in Dallas and I miss her a lot. I was actually surprised at how much I miss Dallas, who would of thought. I was so damn glad to drive out of the city. But back to the flights, I'm somewhat comforted by the fact that it's not because of Memorial Day, it's just the flights are always expensive. Meh, I'll give it another few days...Luckily the darn guviment says I get a refund. Yee-haw.

Hey! It's President Wayne Palmer as the cold-hearted prostitute killer on CSI:Miami. And damnit I'm sucked into this enough to have to watch the rest of it.

Thursday, January 25, 2007

In the name of procrastination...

It's 10pm, I have a paper due on Tuesday. For which I've read, and have some idea of how I'm going to tackle, but haven't done much beyond that. Now, in my former life, a paper due Tuesday evening would not even be on my radar...but law school has ruined me. Habits haven't changed, but guilt has increased. Plus I have a friend in town this weekend, and reading galore, and general life stuff to do. I should work on that now, but I'm avoiding it. Yay blogging. If I was serious about punting, I'd be watching TV and knitting. But I am lazy even in my slacking off.

Monday was interview, feeling exciting about it, waiting to hear back, trying not to be too neurotic. It's worse than waiting for a boy to call. Also waiting for one.more.grade. So far they are good, not stellar, but good. This one could either make them fabby, or keep them respectable. Not that it's *this* grade in particular, just the fourth grade.

I have been knitting. I have a cardigan 95% done for a friend's bebe. The last 5% is fixing the button placement and weaving in the last few ends that escaped. It's striped, which is adorable, but a pain in the ass when it comes to weaving in ends. I should have realized that 1-4 rows in 4 different colors would be fun to knit, but annoying as all fuck to weave in.

Thursday, January 18, 2007

And we're off!

I could say that the fear of being outed is one of the reasons I don't blog that much. And that's somewhat true. But it's mostly being lazy and not having anything interesting to say.

The second semester is not nearly as exciting as the first. No longer are we fueled by the novelty of law school, or blind to what is awaiting us down the road. We're cold, tired, and already sick of classes.

The job search is well underway, but not very fruitful. Mildly freaking out about it, like I usually do. Perhaps not surprisingly, the post-interview rejections sting more than the flat-out 'thanks but no thanks' letters I've been getting. Those aren't personal. This was. And I keep reminding myself, 1L firm jobs are very rare, I have another interview, and other places to look.

But, grades come out tomorrow. So anxiety levels are up. And we got a rather good speech in class in an attempt to boost our morale. However, I don't think it helped. Yes, grades aren't the end all, it just matters for your first job, etc. etc. But it makes it so much easier...

Really, I want to call home and be assured, but 1) I'm too old for that; 2) they are stressed out enough as it is; and 3) I won't get sympathy, just a lot of not so useful advice.

Thursday, December 07, 2006

What? I was supposed to blog this semester?

Clearly, my fans have been clamoring for more blogging. /sarcasm

First final down, three more to go. The first was a lot more exhausting than I thought it was going be. The exam was tough, but not impossible. And I dread to say that I actually left the exam feeling pretty good.

For anyone else, that would be a good thing, no? Well, welcome to my messed up brain, have a seat. I felt like I bombed my first law school exam (mid-term), and got an A- on it. So now, based on that one data point, as well as advice like 'oh, if you think you did poorly, that's a good sign!', I am paranoid that I bombed my exam.

Yep, like my friend D pointed out, I'm never fucking happy. At the time I was bitching that my then new boyfriend was freaking me out because he referred to me as his girlfriend asap and called when he said he would. This was after bitching for months that he was sending me mixed signals from hell...and damn, she was right. That was about the same time that I realized I was commitment-phobic. When I pointed both of these things out to my mom she went 'well, duh!' (As did my advisor, btw.)

Clearly being self-absorbed =/= self-aware.

So, I'm happy to admit now that I'm commitmentphobic and constantly dissatisfied with myself. Makes me fun to be around. Well, that's what the vodka is for.

I suppose I should study for my next exam.